The Alfred Dunhill Links Championship is a highlight on the European Tour season calendar, seeing some of the worlds biggest professionals and celebrity amateurs tee it up alongside each other at three of the most breathtaking links courses in the world.

Two competitions are run over the course of four rounds where players compete across the Old Course at St Andrews, the Championship Course at Carnoustie and Kingsbarns Golf Links, with players alternating between the three different courses.

The tournament itself sees an individual stroke play event on the European Tour for the professionals, but they will also be part of a Pro-Am competition involving their amateur partner, seeing the best score on each hole from every pair taken.

Throw in a cut mark after three rounds, seeing the field is reduced to 60 pros including ties, with the leading 20 Pro-Am teams, and a final round played at the Old Course, you have one unforgettable week.

Ian Walton/Getty Images Sport

Tyrrell Hatton won his first European Tour title at last season’s Dunhill, equalling the Old course record of 62 on his way to victory while partnering Northern Irish actor Jamie Dornan in the amateur team competition.

The Field

  • Five former World Number Ones lead by Rory McIlroy. (Luke Donald, Ernie Els, Martin Kaymer and Lee Westwood.)
  • Six Major champions including Paul Lawrie who lifted his Claret Jug at the 128th Open Championship on Carnoustie Links. (Padraig Harrington, Ernie Els, Martin Kaymer, Rory McIlroy and Graeme McDowell.)
  • 9 players out of the Top-20 in the Race to Dubai, leader Tommy Fleetwood returns in his first start since the birth of his son Franklin.
  • Defending champion Tyrell Hatton.

Defending champion Tyrell Hatton will continue his successful partnership with actor Jamie Doran as he returns to St Andrew’s on Thursday.

Rory McIlroy will team up with Dad, Gerry, at 09:22 as the four-time Major Champion still eyes a win this season to improve two runner-up places.

Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images Sport

U.S Open winner Graeme McDowell will play with retired jockey AP McCoy at 09:44, friends and a regular force in Pro-Ams.

Former champion Lee Westwood will tee it up with singer Ronan Keating at 11.23, 14 years since his last victory on the links.


Starting at hole 1

0900 Nathan Kimsey, Niclas Fasth (Swe)

0911 Mike Lorenzo-Vera (Fra), Nicolas Colsaerts (Bel)

0922 Nino Bertasio (Ita), Gary Stal (Fra)

0933 Jorge Campillo (Spa), Joel Stalter (Fra)

0944 Pavit Tangkamolprasert (Tha), Sam Walker

0955 Gregory Bourdy (Fra), Scott Gregory

1006 Nacho Elvira (Spa), Scott Jamieson

1017 Darren Fichardt (Rsa), Yi-Keun Chang (Kor)

1028 Duncan Stewart, Stuart Manley

1039 Marcus Armitage, Pep Angles (Spa)

1050 Alvaro Quiros (Spa), Marcel Siem (Ger)

1101 Johan Carlsson (Swe), Thongchai Jaidee (Tha)

1112 Bernd Ritthammer (Ger), Brett Rumford (Aus)

1123 Anthony Michael (Rsa), Jbe Kruger (Rsa)

Starting at hole 10

0900 Paul Peterson (USA), Felipe Aguilar (Chi)

0911 Eduardo De La Riva (Spa), Sebastien Gros (Fra)

0922 S.S.P Chawrasia (Ind), Thomas Bjorn (Den)

0933 Byeong-Hun An (Kor), Matthew Southgate

0944 Richie Ramsay, Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Tha)

0955 Peter Hanson (Swe), Thorbjorn Olesen (Den)

1006 Stephen Gallacher, Alexander Bjork (Swe)

1017 Ashun Wu (Chn), Andrew Dodt (Aus)

1028 Liam Johnston, Phachara Khongwatmai (Tha)

1039 Luca Cianchetti (Ita), Gavin Moynihan

1050 Alexander Knappe (Ger), Paul Lawrie

1101 Grant Forrest, Jose-Filipe Lima (Por)

1112 Adrian Otaegui (Spa), Florian Fritsch (Ger)

1123 Sebastian Heisele (Ger), Soomin Lee (Kor)

Richard Heathcote/Getty Images Sport

St Andrews

Starting at hole 1

0900 Ross Fisher, George Coetzee (Rsa)

0911 Paul Dunne, Ernie Els (Rsa)

0922 Branden Grace (Rsa), Rory McIlroy

0933 Richard Sterne (Rsa), Tommy Fleetwood

0944 Graeme McDowell, Robert Karlsson (Swe)

0955 Padraig Harrington, Austin Connelly (Can)

1006 Ryan Fox (Nzl), David Howell

1017 Matthew Fitzpatrick, Luke Donald

1028 Dylan Frittelli (Rsa), Thomas Detry (Bel)

1039 Daniel Im (USA), Nathan Holman (Aus)

1050 Chris Hanson, J.B. Holmes (USA)

1101 Martin Kaymer (Ger), Maximilian Kieffer (Ger)

1112 Tyrrell Hatton, Brandon Stone (Rsa)

1123 Shane Lowry, Lee Westwood

Starting at hole 10

0900 Richard Bland, Carlos Pigem (Spa)

0911 Aaron Rai, Oliver Fisher

0922 Matthieu Pavon (Fra), Jordan Smith

0933 Julien Quesne (Fra), Matt Wallace

0944 Lasse Jensen (Den), Benjamin Hebert (Fra)

0955 Rhein Gibson (Aus), Patrick Newcomb (USA)

1006 Paul Waring, Alfie Plant

1017 Aron Price (Aus), Jamie Donaldson

1028 Fabrizio Zanotti (Par), Brett Quigley (USA)

1039 Romain Langasque (Fra), Jeunghun Wang (Kor)

1050 Zander Lombard (Rsa), Justin Walters (Rsa)

1101 Andrew Evans (Aus), Damien Perrier (Fra)

1112 Jason Scrivener (Aus), Daniel Brooks

1123 Chris Paisley, Ashley Chesters


Starting at hole 1

0900 Marcus Fraser (Aus), Ricardo Gouveia (Por)

0911 Wade Ormsby (Aus), Jack Singh Brar

0922 Laurie Canter, Christiaan Bezuidenhout (Rsa)

0933 Callum Shinkwin, Ulrich Van Den Berg (Rsa)

0944 Mikko Ilonen (Fin), Ben Evans

0955 Ashley Hall (Aus), Robert Rock

1006 David Drysdale, Cliff Kresge (USA)

1017 Scott Hend (Aus), Alejandro Canizares (Spa)

1028 Graeme Storm, Anders Hansen (Den)

1039 Magnus A Carlsson (Swe), Jack Davidson

1050 Jaco Ahlers (Rsa), Haydn Porteous (Rsa)

1101 Todd Sinnott (Aus), Eddie Pepperell

1112 Victor Dubuisson (Fra), Alexander Levy (Fra)

1123 Chris Wood, David Horsey


Richard Heathcote/Getty Images Sport

Starting at hole 10

0900 Connor Syme, James Morrison

0911 Renato Paratore (Ita), Gregory Havret (Fra)

0922 Lee Slattery, Tom Lewis

0933 Oliver Bekker (Rsa), Dean Burmester (Rsa)

0944 Stephen Leaney (Aus), Matthew Giles (Aus)

0955 Edoardo Molinari (Ita), Jacques Kruyswijk (Rsa)

1006 Anthony Wall, Joost Luiten (Ned)

1017 Romain Wattel (Fra), Marc Warren

1028 Julian Suri (USA), Stuart Appleby (Aus)

1039 Simon Dyson, Matteo Manassero (Ita)

1050 Sam Brazel (Aus), Bradley Dredge

1101 Thomas Aiken (Rsa), Joakim Lagergren (Swe)

1112 Pablo Larrazabal (Spa), Raphael Jacquelin (Fra)

1123 Lucas Bjerregaard (Den), Rikard Karlberg (Swe)