Francesco Molinari was crowned Race to Dubai champion for the first time in his career on Sunday to cap a stunning season, after fending off Ryder Cup team-mate Tommy Fleetwood.

The Italian now ends the season as European number one despite Fleetwood pushing Molinari all the way.

Molinari’s incredible run began in May when he lifted the BMW PGA Championship at Wentworth, and he followed that with a runner-up finish on home soil at the Italian Open.

Since then, the 36-year-old has enjoyed stellar run of form, lifting his first major title at The Open in July, before becoming the first European to win all five of his matches at the Ryder Cup in September, with four of them coming alongside Fleetwood.

Following Molinari being crowned Race to Dubai champion, we’ve decided to take a look back at the previous Race to Dubai and Order of Merit champions from way back in 1971.