Ryder Cup star Sergio Garcia has issued an apology after he was disqualified from the inaugural Saudi International due to damaging numerous greens, the Guardian report.
The Spaniard reportedly damaged a number of greens in frustration during his third-round 71, with European Tour officials ruling the 39-year-old out of the final round.
A number of players competing behind Garcia were reportedly unhappy of the state of the greens due to the Spaniard’s actions.
The 2017 Masters champion was disqualified under Rule 1.2a which states disqualification can be permitted for “serious misconduct”.
Following his dismissal, García published a statement shortly after, informing fellow players that he will never do it again.
I respect the decision of my disqualification. In frustration, I damaged a couple of greens, which I apologise for, and I have informed my fellow players it will never happen again.
Garcia is rumoured to be the first player ever to be disqualified for ‘serious misconduct’ during a European Tour round since it was established in 1972.
The 39-year-old may well face further disciplinary action as a result of his actions, which could result in a suspension or a fine.